It’s a birthday month, and those always come with a hangover


It was a Birthday weekend, no not mine. My loving wife turned 47 Sunday – she loves to celebrate as much as possible, starting at the first of the month I tell her “Happy Birthday month” if I remember.

The celebration started Friday with lunch/dinner at TGIFriday’s. They have Guiness malt (Guinness beer in a milk shake – awesome.)

Saturday was a movie (I’ll get to that later) at home and pizza night. Sunday we journeyed down to Kentucky to witness the Norwood Highlanders  in a game of vintage baseball at Florence Freedom Stadium Vintage baseball is played with 1869 rules, no gloves, if the ball is caught after the first bounce it is considered out. That and many other changes from what we know today make it a very interesting game of Baseball. The fact they played on Astroturf for the first time was interesting also. After they won their game, we stuck around for the regular Minor league game.

Now I am not a big beer drinker, my limit is like two – I prefer the hard stuff which is difficult to get at a ball park. I had four beers. The wife says I need to drink more to build up my tolerances. At least I had fun and I think I remember everything.

I sit here today with just a slight headache, no hangover. Speaking of which; Saturday’s movie was THE HANGOVER.

 

Doug Billings (Justin Bartha) and Tracy Garner (Sasha Barrese) are getting married on Sunday. But before Doug gets hitched in a marriage to his rich young bride, his two best friends,  Phil Wenneck and Stu Price, and his soon to be brother-in-law, Alan Garner – drive Tracy’s father’s mint condition Mercedes convertible to Las Vegas for the typical bachelor party. Phil, (played by Bradley Cooper) is a married high school teacher that is still lost in his teens. Stu, (Ed Helms) is a dentist suffering through courtship with his very controlling girlfriend Melissa (Rachael Harris – she plays a very good “B”). Stu has to lie to her, telling her they are going on a wine tasting weekend in the Napa Valley. Even against the advice of his pals, he still wants to marry her. (As I told my wife – I would not be able to handle this relationship.) When it comes to Alan (Zach Galifianakis), there is just something not right with him, which is he proves again and again.

They arrive in Vegas in one piece and make a pack – “This weekend will never be talked about or discussed ever again.” Only because they wake up the next morning and don’t remember anything. There is a tiger trapped in the bathroom, a chicken running around the trashed main room, a baby in teh closet and Stu has lost his Grandmothers wedding ring, that he was going to give his girlfriend, plus a front tooth. Oh yeah, they also lost Doug his mattress and the Mercedes.

They spend the weekend trying to figure out what happened and where Doug is. There is a special appearance in here of Mike Tyson which was okay; I think he was hit in the head a little too much. During their journey they meet the police and a real crazy Oriental played to the hilt by Ken Jeong.

I’m not one into raunchy comedies so when I clicked on the “view unrated version” my step daughter almost went into shock. On a scale of 1 to 10 – I would say the laughs in this movie are a minus 1. I did laugh once when Stu told Alan he was “Too stupid to be insulted.” I figure if you have to use the “F” word to get a laugh it wasn’t funny in the first place and that word is used a lot in this movie. I am glad I didn’t see this movie in the theatre and pay an arm and a leg. If you need a good laugh – this might work if you are into silly comedies that try too hard to be funny.

What I can’t understand is why they made another one. My wife requested this, and the sequel, mainly because of Bradley Cooper. She likes him in Alias and he has come a long way.

So, how was your weekend and what silly movies did you see?

About hutch1957

Brian Hutchinson was born in the cold windy city of Cleveland, Ohio over fifty-three years ago. Soon afterwards he found his roots, actually tripped over a few first, in Cincinnati, Ohio. In school, he quickly took an interest in literature and writing and over the past forty years has tried to improve his talents. His hobbies, or what managed to interest him for a short time, have been photography, ham radio, movies, science fiction and TV. After surviving marriage for 22 years and two kids, he became single again and remarried a year later, inheriting two more kids. In his spare time he enjoys self torture and playing WoW, reading and watching mysteries and scifi. He has had many professions, and has finally settled down as a Security Guard. Now he twitters and writes in his spare time, or while he is at work. (Which is really the same thing.)

Posted on June 13, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Happy Birthday to your wife!

    OK, I’m with you. The first one was OK. I didn’t laugh much either.

  2. Thanks, Im glad someone is with me.

