Adventures with Bilee


Since I have been working only half days three days a week I decided those afternoons I am off would be a great time to walk the dogs. My only issue is sometimes it is difficult to control three forty pound Whippets and two ten pound Italian Greyhounds at the same time. (I know – I should do them all in one day – but they get plenty of exercise if they are outside for thirty minutes to an hour.) There is only one problem with doing them one at a time; the other five like to protest. At least I don’t have to listen to it until I return.

Yesterday was Bilee’s turn.

Bilee almost in the lead!

He isn’t the heaviest, but he is a fast walker which means I am constantly pulling him back. Not to mention he is a little dense at times – lights on, no one is home.  He was very excited to take his walk and eventually calmed down so I could put his leash on him and we started out – to the discontent of the rest of the pack. I began with an iPod, my smartphone (measuring the distance), an empty poop bag and clean hands. Because he is very hyper he was bouncing around and I lost the bag. Of course I didn’t realize this until he decided to take a dump on the sidewalk. I continued on, no bag and a dog that kept wanting to run after every noise. As I hit the mile mark of the journey I saw a coupon bag in the middle of the street.

‘This would do well enough.’ I thought. Most dog owners would not worry about their dog dropping a load in the middle of someone’s sidewalk – but I do. My normal route would wrap me back the way I came so I would be able to pick it up.

A few minutes later, my phone rings, an unlisted number. It is the cardiologist that was working on my mom over the weekend and they were calling to make a follow up appointment. They claimed they didn’t have her phone number but I know they did. It is hard enough to read that screen so I told them I would call them back in about twenty minutes but I needed their number. I suddenly got the bright idea of sending a text to my mom, but first I had to get to the application. This is something I don’t normally do but I managed, throwing Bilee’s leash on the ground and stepping on it so he would not run away and I could use both hands while I held on to the empty bag. Finally I manage to send the text message to mom with the phone number, name and people that are calling me telling her to call them as I was talking to the lady that called me. (It is very difficult to see that screen in the daylight). Before I finished, Bilee saw something a lot more interesting them watching me play with my phone and he started to take off. He almost got away, but I grabbed the leash in time yet I dropped the bag. A cold gust of wind grabbed it before I could and the bag disappeared.

I continue on – getting more pissed at this dog every minute. He is the only one that cannot just walk and ignore everything else. He is also the only one that takes a dump during the walk.

I saw visions of me getting home, grabbing a bag and driving to the spot where Bilee left the present. Then I smiled, there in the middle of the sidewalk – another bag! This one is smaller and cheaper than the last one. I continue on…find the poop and manage to pick it up as Billie is trying to get away to catch a tree bunny, again. I’m not laughing as my fingers break through the bag and I now have Billie’s little present all over my hands. Then my mom texts me, “What’s the rush, I’ll get to it!” So now I have to call her, as I am juggling a bag of poop, a dog and earphones that just do not want to stay in my ear on this windy day. I try to explain the situation to her – but with the wind blowing harder she can’t hear me so I end up raising my voice and now I am yelling at her.

I think Bilee either got worn out or knew I was having a bad walk because for the next few minutes – until we got home – he walked slower, head and eyes straight ahead and ears flat against his head.

I don’t think I will be taking him for a walk next week.

Today – I’m taking a twelve pound Iggy (Italian Greyhound).

About hutch1957

Brian Hutchinson was born in the cold windy city of Cleveland, Ohio over fifty-three years ago. Soon afterwards he found his roots, actually tripped over a few first, in Cincinnati, Ohio. In school, he quickly took an interest in literature and writing and over the past forty years has tried to improve his talents. His hobbies, or what managed to interest him for a short time, have been photography, ham radio, movies, science fiction and TV. After surviving marriage for 22 years and two kids, he became single again and remarried a year later, inheriting two more kids. In his spare time he enjoys self torture and playing WoW, reading and watching mysteries and scifi. He has had many professions, and has finally settled down as a Security Guard. Now he twitters and writes in his spare time, or while he is at work. (Which is really the same thing.)

Posted on September 16, 2011, in dogs, Life, Whippet, Whippets and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Adventures with Bilee.

Comments are closed.

