Can you finish?


I have this annoying habit of starting things (home
projects, writing, exercising and the list goes on…) and not finishing them. I
actually have at least three blog entries I started and have not posted or
finished yet. Guess I get too distracted or I just need better drugs, who
knows?

This year, I
convinced myself to hit the NaNoWriMo circuit and attempt to finish a novel, no
less than 50,000 words, before the end of November. It sounded scary at first
because I knew two things – one – None of my published works, including the
critically slammed The Set’la , are over 50,000 words. The second thing I knew
– I have at least twenty unfinished stories hiding in a collection of external
drives, thumb drives and even one floppy disk that I can’t seem to read.
However, I decided to bite the bullet and go for it.

The months of
September and October were spent thinking up a nice plot line, at first I was
thinking of doing a sequel to Journey of Tara, I even went so far as to getting
The Marcel hooked up with a twitter account so it would be easier for her to
contact me – I think she fell into a black hole cause I haven’t heard from her
for a while.

Then my mind thought ‘Hey – doo-fuss – do an autobiography,
at least you know how the story ends, so far anyway.’ This was a possibility –
but it would still be more fiction than non-fiction because my fifty-three
years hasn’t been the most exciting, and I did it once a long time ago and in a
universe far, far away.

A small little voice
in my head even thought about writing erotica, but my stuff isn’t nearly as
good as other authors out there like Tara Lain.

I also remembered a detective I created a long time ago –
from the same universe mentioned above, and thought about writing that one up.
I had about five little unfinished stories out there in my wasteland of ignored
external drives, but I had to start fresh.

When October 31st rolled around I asked my wife what she
thought I should do, “Mystery – we have seen too much Sci-Fi lately. Do a
mystery.”

Okay – I’ll give this
a shot.  Originally I was going to do him
in first person POV, which most of the mysteries I have read are in, but I
didn’t feel comfortable with using two POV’s. There is still time – I think.

So a mystery it is;
introducing, Nathan Whysmann.  This is
just the synopsis I threw in for NaNoWriMo, “Nathan Whysemann, an ex cop and
current Private Eye is swept up in the gruesome homicide of a local lawyer that
brings back more than memories of his dead wife. On a journey that will give
him more answers than he wants he concentrates all his efforts on solving it,
especially after a very close family member is attacked. Now it gets personal.”

My first week has
gone pretty steady;

Nov 1st: 1666 words.
I wrote most of these at work – but I wasn’t too happy with all the little red
squiggly lines.

Nov 2nd: 1667 words,
still more red lines – but I am controlling the urge..

Nov 3rd: 33 words,
everyone has an off day – but I fixed the red line problem.

Nov 4th: 1793 words,
a wordly record. (Sorry – couldn’t resist.)

Nov 5th: 3203
words.  The little writing spree we had
at the local iHop helped I am sure.

Nov 6th: 2067 words. This was my own little two and half
hour sprint.

Nov 7th: 10419 is my total so far this month – will do more
when I get home, I have my ear plugs ready just in case.

However, I heard so much about this thing, and I know it is
a great exercise for getting used to typing that much. I still have questions
about it that I can’t even begin to formulate.

I did learn a few tricks to get my count up – When stuck –
write dialogue. I love writing dialogue. Another neat little trick is DO NOT USE
CONTRACTIONS. You can always go back and fix it after December 1st.

My personal favorite and maybe the most difficult one for
me; do not use the dreaded back space key. (Try telling that to someone that
has OCD – or CDO)

But-does it have to make sense. After I wrote the beginning
I came up with an alternate beginning. I didn’t delete the old, am keeping it
on the count – may put it somewhere else. I suppose it really doesn’t matter
what you write or how lousy it is – to some people. To me – I need to like what
I write; it has to sound good to me. That’s just the way I work. I like what I
have written so far, I have no idea where I am going or how it will end. I
don’t have a good solid motive for my killer. I suppose this is going to be a
very rough draft – but I will fix it…. Eventually.

My daily personal goal is 2000 WPD. (Just lock me in a
padded cell and give me good wi-fi reception so I can…ahhh…do research, yeah,
research.)

So, how many NaNoWriMo’s have you done? And if you have any
little tricks, dare to share?

Thanks for the visit.

About hutch1957

Brian Hutchinson was born in the cold windy city of Cleveland, Ohio over fifty-three years ago. Soon afterwards he found his roots, actually tripped over a few first, in Cincinnati, Ohio. In school, he quickly took an interest in literature and writing and over the past forty years has tried to improve his talents. His hobbies, or what managed to interest him for a short time, have been photography, ham radio, movies, science fiction and TV. After surviving marriage for 22 years and two kids, he became single again and remarried a year later, inheriting two more kids. In his spare time he enjoys self torture and playing WoW, reading and watching mysteries and scifi. He has had many professions, and has finally settled down as a Security Guard. Now he twitters and writes in his spare time, or while he is at work. (Which is really the same thing.)

Posted on November 7, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Go, Brian! Woot! Glad you’re writing. I find your stories very original and fresh. Can’t wait to see what you come up with.

  2. Thanks Mary, niether can I. LOL

