I’m still alive and kicking


I’m still alive and kicking.

Rumors of my death have been greatly exaggerated. At the moment I am retooling “The Set’la” and I will be working on it as much as possible.

Life likes to get in the way but I think I have to set aside at least an hour or two daily for writing. The first chapter of “The Set’la” is ready, now I am working on the rest of them.

Last month, the wife and I decided to finally attack our pool with a vengeance. The dreaded Japanese boxwood shrubs now look like Bonsai trees. This did require the use of a chainsaw and my wife constantly saying, “Be careful!” For some reason she had visions of me cutting off assorted limbs that were not attached to the bushes. I don’t really blame for this since I am one of the few people she knows that can trip walking on flat ground. But I still have all my appendages and have come to the conclusion that at 55 years – my body is not use to hard labor. That’s why I am a Security Guard. The next step on the pool is replacing the lines and pool liner. This is a very expensive project but it must be done. Once it is finished we will spend more time in it, and be able to enjoy it more.

As for the writing – I must admit that the last review I received on the “Set’la” has discouraged me a lot from writing much of anything. However I am throwing myself back into as much as I can, my other short stories are being but on hold at the moment as I discuss the future of the book with a beta reader I have found.

Journey of Tara is still doing well, so far I have sold 97 copies in a little over two years and in the back of my mind there is a sequel trying to come out.

So with that said, I must get back to the editing world as I clip away at my book. Don’t worry – no chain saw will be involved in this process.

Thanks for reading, feel free to comment.

About hutch1957

Brian Hutchinson was born in the cold windy city of Cleveland, Ohio over fifty-three years ago. Soon afterwards he found his roots, actually tripped over a few first, in Cincinnati, Ohio. In school, he quickly took an interest in literature and writing and over the past forty years has tried to improve his talents. His hobbies, or what managed to interest him for a short time, have been photography, ham radio, movies, science fiction and TV. After surviving marriage for 22 years and two kids, he became single again and remarried a year later, inheriting two more kids. In his spare time he enjoys self torture and playing WoW, reading and watching mysteries and scifi. He has had many professions, and has finally settled down as a Security Guard. Now he twitters and writes in his spare time, or while he is at work. (Which is really the same thing.)

Posted on June 30, 2013, in editing, goals, Journey of Tara, Life, The Set'la, work in progress, writing, writing habits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. kennamckinnon

    Hi, Bruce, you sound a tad frustrated. May I remind you that today is Canada Day for us Canucks and it behooves us to make a holiday of the weekend, which most of us are doing. Why don’t you go ahead and join us, eh, then you can celebrate July 4, too, and so will I.

    I got an email from my publisher yesterday, sent to the whole batch of authors in her stable, urging us to try harder and be like one of our writers who has done well with the launch of one of her books. Of course, that means money in the pocket of author and publisher, and I don’t have much money in my pocket nor does my publisher have much money in her pocket from me. She does very well on her own as an author and promoter.

    But I keep writing and view this as a marathon, not a sprint.

    All that to say you are probably doing very well and one reviewer had a bad day with your story. We’re here to buck one another up not down.

    Short stories are interesting. Keep it up.

    • Thank you and I will. and happy Canada day!

      • kennamckinnon

        You write very good sci-fi short stories and they are quite technical, if I remember right. Fantasy and sword play seem to be popular but I think the more intelligent squirrels and girls will prefer the hard SF authors like William Gibson here in Canada, My son preferred those and I also like Greg Bear who wrote Eon. That to say, I am not that intelligent a girl or squirrel, and often read motivational ebooks because I don’t know anything yet.

  2. kennamckinnon

    So sorry, Brian, I called you Bruce. Well, you can understand my confusion since both names start with “B” like better and brilliant. hahaha

